Journaling

How many of you journal? I do and I bet like many of you, I am not very consistent at it.

I started journaling a few years ago at the suggestion of my therapist at the time. I actually did it pretty consistently for a while. I even took time to go back and read old posts to see how much progress I had made. It was actually pretty enlightening to read. I could see the days that were horribly dark but also the days where the light was shining. As the days went on I got out of the habit of journaling.

A new therapist suggested I write down what i am grateful for even if it was just one thing. The goal was to think of one thing every day that I am grateful for and to try and not repeat the same thing each day. It worked for a while and I was back to writing something each day. I am not sure when I got out of that habit. I manage to post a motivational pic to this blog every day so why I can’t take a minute to write in my journal every day?

I ran across an article today that might help me get back on track journaling regularly. I wanted to share the tips from the article in case you, like me, need some motivation to get back to writing in a journal or blogging. It’s a template the author uses. The original article is here if you want to read it. The template assumes you journal in the morning but can be adapted as necessary.

Yesterday

  • What happened yesterday? I don’t chronicle everything, of course. I just hit the highs and the lows—those activities or events I want to remember later.
  • What were my biggest wins from yesterday? This gives me a sense of momentum to start the day.
  • What lessons did I learn that I don’t want to forget? I try to distill my experience down into a couple of lessons I want to remember. It’s not what happens to us but what we learn from what happens to us.

Now

  • What am I thankful for right now? This is one practical way I can begin my day with a sense of abundance and gratitude.
  • How am I feeling right now? Feelings aren’t the be-all-end-all, but they are an important clue. In the past, I just ignored or suppressed them. This gives me an opportunity to check in on myself.

Today

  • What did I read today? I record a list of anything I’ve read since I last journaled, including books, blogs, and Bible passages.
  • What stood out to me in my reading? I don’t want to lose what I learn, so I record key lessons and insights.
  • What are my plans for today? I preview my schedule and identify the key tasks for the day. This helps me prioritize.

I found some of the tips above helpful particularly the part about what am I thankful for right now? I seem to do better at journaling when I have something positive to think about rather than just when things aren’t going well. I hope you found some of the above tips helpful.

Take care of you!

 

One thought on “Journaling

Leave a Reply

